The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Have you ever read a book that made you stop living your real life because you cannot stop reading? This was how the girl on the train was for me.

O Paula Hawkins, you had me from the very first page. I just couldn’t put it down. Believe me! I am not exaggerating. It was an epic read. Gripping from the very start and this is coming from someone who is not into crime fiction.

After reading considerable amount of mind numbingly boring books, this one was like a breath of fresh air. When I picked it up, my intention was to merely read first couple pages just to get an idea about how it was going to be. My plan was not to start reading this one since I was already in the middle of another book. Little did I know my plan had crumbled the moment I picked it up because this book sucked me into it like a tornado taking everything away with it.

The narrator is a woman who has lost her husband to another woman and she’s facing a difficult time letting it go. Or maybe she doesn’t want to let it go. She starts observing a couple she doesn’t know and wishes to live the life they have.

You know how when our life is tough, we tend to look at those around us, the happier ones and wish for that perfect life. But looking from far away is always different than what the reality is. Paula captured this beautifully. looking from far away, we all assume assume others lives are perfect but the truth lies beneath those layers of seemingly perfect life.

With intriguing characters, compelling story, Paula has made me believe that there are still some amazing books out there. If you are looking for something that keeps you wanting for more, this is the right choice for you.

Overall, I will give this book the rating of 5/5.

 

Leave a Reply

